Google made an update to their terms of service agreement that will allow them to use your name and photo in their online advertising campaigns. Meaning that the next time you’re searching on Google, you might find ads that look something like this;
But instead of the photogenic smiling faces, it’ll probably be your friends’ ugly mugs.
Whenever yourself or a friend comment on, follow or +1 a page while logged in with his or her Google account, that content may then be used alongside Google’s future advertising. This is clearly a horrible idea but not unexpected from Google (considering their recent moves towards the proliferating of Google+). However, you would glad to know that it is entirely optional and you can easily opt out.
On other privacy infringing news, you can also easily opt out from Facebook’s version.
Originally written on 12 October 2013.